What would be the best techinque to study for this kind of information (details inside) ?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 30 December, 2014 - 16:37

What would be the best techinque to study for this kind of information (details inside) ?

Hey everyone! Hope this is the right place for posting this..

Sorry in advance for the somewhat longish post, please allow me to explain what it is I'm interested in and frame the problem I've run into.

I'm an art student working to improve my abilities, and a big obstacle I've run into along my journey is memory drawing. I'm pretty comfortable with my artistic skills when I'm looking at a subject in front of me, but take it away - even if it's a simplish cartoon - and the task of recalling that information becomes much more difficult.

I have devised a way to extract information from my subject, the problem I'm running into is actually remembering it all. What I do is something like this (for a cartoon line drawing at least, which is my goal for the moment):

Break down the object into simple shapes.
Analyze the major lines: list the major angles, break down curved lines into a series of angles to remember
Measure proportions and find the position of elements in relation to one another
Break down the details into small shapes and repeat the process of the above steps until all lines and shapes are accounted for
Finally, memorize the order in which all this information was obtained to keep it step-by-step

Basically, this approach is all about memorizing lines and shapes. The information is visual to a degree, but I'm able to make it logical as well: for instance, knowing that a line rests between 1:00 and 2:00 on a clock can help me recall what angle to place where. I don't know how photographic memory works, I just know I don't have one, so that's why I've devised this system of making lots of small logical observations that accumulate.