Techniques for learning music notes and notation

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 10 April, 2011 - 13:29

Techniques for learning music notes and notation

I started training myself with memory techniques a little over a month ago. So far I've been using them to memorize a deck of cards, US Presidents and Vice Presidents, people's names and faces, and mind mapping as a way of taking notes during class.
But one thing that I've really wanted to apply these techniques to was learning bass. I've been playing and learning bass for a few months now and can play a couple songs. The problem is that I took the easy way out and simply learned the tab notation and ignored the music theory. Learning the music theory is not that bad since a lot of teachers already use mnemonics (like "The lines are Good, Boys, Do, Fine, Always, and the spaces are All, Cows, Eat, Grass.")
I just have trouble learning what the notes on the fretboard are. I was thinking of using the fretboard as my journey but I'm not sure how to assign images. Can anyone help me figure out a system that would help me assign images taking into fact that some notes have sharps and flats and appear in multiple places on the fretboard?

thanks!

10 April, 2011 - 14:09

Zombie Lennon wrote:
I just have trouble learning what the notes on the fretboard are. I was thinking of using the fretboard as my journey but I'm not sure how to assign images. Can anyone help me figure out a system that would help me assign images taking into fact that some notes have sharps and flats and appear in multiple places on the fretboard?

I would memorize the notes perpendicular to the fret board at the following frets, from highest note to lowest note: open strings, 3, 5, 7, 10, 12

• open strings: G, D, A, E
  • fret 3: Bb, F, C, G
  • fret 5: C ,G ,D, A
  • fret 7: D, A, E, B
  • fret 10: F, C, G, D
  • fret 12: same as zero, or open string