mnemonic system for learning chinese

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 1 December, 2013 - 11:40

mnemonic system for learning chinese

Here is a link for an mnemonic system based on the sounds in Mandarin. I would be interested in knowing what all you guys learning Chinese think. Can we refine this into something we can use and do you guys think it is worth the time and effort it would take to master it. I personally think it has great promise.

http://countryoftheblind.blogspot.hk/2012/01/mnemonics-for-pronouncing-c...

17 February, 2014 - 17:14

Great article, cheers. This actually helps me out a lot with a problem I've been having lately. I'm new to memory palaces and towns and to be honest was finding the whole concept a little daunting, but this breaks it down and makes it more manageable. Can't wait to try it out.

17 February, 2014 - 23:03

Nice post. Now i can go for chinese. Great thanks

31 March, 2014 - 19:58

I saw that and it's definitely a good idea. The main thing about it is that it's overkill in most cases.

I've found that in most cases assigning a color and emotion to each tone and then using the standard methods for memorizing foreign vocabulary is sufficient. The flash cards I use will always have the character and the pronunciation on them at first.

Once I've managed to attach the meaning to the spoken word, I'll usually have enough of an idea what the character looks like in order to type it in pinyin. At that point, I'll usually go about trying to figure out how to write it from radicals, if I haven't alrady figured it out.

But, there is some benefit from having a system for generating images for anything you might want to learn. The downside is that it won't spread across Chinese languages as well as what I outlined above.

5 December, 2014 - 19:35

This is a one year late reply.
I have been developing a system to remember the pronunciation of Chinese characters.
It consists of: