Memorizing Rubik's Cubes (and similar puzzles)

Download our free ebook! Just click the "Sign up" button below to create an account, and we'll send you a free ebook with tips on how to get started.

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 8 October, 2012 - 06:08

Memorizing Rubik's Cubes (and similar puzzles)

Okay, this is gonna be a post summarizing how I personally memorize a 3x3x3 (normal) rubik's cube. I can also memorize a 4x4x4 (4 layers on each side/16 stickers per face) and a 2x2x2 (2 layers on each side/4 stickers per face. Commonly known as the "4 cube" (or something like that) by non-speed cubers).

I can memorize a normal cube in about 1 minute, a 4x4x4 cube in about 25 minutes (I'm still a beginner), a 2x2x2 cube in about 15-18 seconds. Some people can memorize a normal cube between 7-10 seconds. Yes. 7 SECONDS. The WR for 4x4x4 blindfolded is around 2min, 30 sec, I believe. I think the memorization took about 1 min, 45 sec (pretty sure, but I can't remember now. lol)

Now, many of you may think that we look at the cube for a few seconds and know exactly what turns we have to do to solve it. This is entirely false. There is an event that some practice called Fewest Moves. Each competitor gets 1 hour to solve a rubiks cube in the least number of turns possible. Any cube can be solved in 20 or fewer moves, and most can be done in 17. The WR was recently set at 20 moves. I believe God's algorithm (fewest moves to solve it) for that scramble was under 20, perhaps 17 or 18. Blindsolvers start memorizing at the same time the timer starts, so if a cuber says they blindsolved a 3x3 in 30 seconds (WR is 27, people have done under 20 unofficially at home) that includes the time used to memorize the cube.
What we actually do is memorize where each piece has to go and then use commutators (A B A' B' or some variant) to solve only a few pieces at a time (usually just 2).