How to memorize first 5000 french words

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 28 May, 2017 - 04:08
moo
moo's picture

How to memorize first 5000 french words

Hi Everyone,

I am new to memory techniques and have strategy questions for a larger goal.

I want to memorize the 5000 most frequently used French words in order to increase my reading level. I already speak french well enough to travel, and have a conversation, but not well enough to read the newspaper or read adult books. Also... I'm French... so I have some hangups about not having better language skills. I picked up "the memory book" and memorized random examples thought 'holy crap, I can do this!'

So, I got the following books

And I found a memrise.com flashcard set based on this frequency dictionary.

So, on with the questions!

With respect to memory techniques, assuming I want to memorize that whole book (eventually) what techniques should I use? Going in order seems the most useful, but what about thematic groupings? Are there techniques to add elements to a theme? Is it absurd to want to remember the frequency number? (Will adding this make it significantly harder?)

Thank you in advance!
moo

28 May, 2017 - 06:13

There are two ways to use memory techniques to efficiently learn vocab and I am still torn as to which one I think is better.

The first is to use simple associations which are only connected to each other. For example, for 'Bonjour' I would see the word Journey at the end of the word. I would then think that journeys start in the morning therefore associating jour with morning. Doing it this way wouldn't allow you to list off words but it should allow you to translate almost any word you have practised.