How Do You Get Your Omega 3s?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 18 September, 2012 - 16:58

How Do You Get Your Omega 3s?

18 September, 2012 - 18:28

I get mine from life'sDHA (the competition's sponsor). It's algae rather than fish oil. I take a couple pills of it in the morning and I'm set for the day (1000mg).

Occasionally it's in my eggs and/or milk, but very tiny amounts.

19 September, 2012 - 08:44

I eat Omega 3 due to my high blood pressure, so I have some experiences, not sources from web, and I can say, that it has a good effect on my brain. There was a little difference in my brain functioning, when I ran out of it. It was one week without any fish, or nuts, and of course, pills, so I would call it "omega 3 deficit". And I had a lack of concentration and so on. Not something extraordinary, of course. But I didn't know that Omega 3 are good for brain. But then, when I started to it eat again, I could think faster, and everything, like programming or memory training seemed a little bit easier for me, and I was even more motivated. And in that moment, one question came to my mind "what changed?"..And I realized, that I had more Omega 3 in my food, so it can be the "change". I think that Omega 3 are needed. I don't know, if it is really Omega 3 or not, just my one experience. But it still works..

20 September, 2012 - 14:07

Is 1000 mg the recommended daily dose? I wasn't really paying attention to my dosage.

This morning I started grinding the flax seeds to make sure I get the nutrients. I took 2 tablespoons today and will probably have 1 tbsp of the flax oil later -- added to the bean soup that I made last night.

According to this random webpage, flax seeds may need to be eaten with certain other nutrients to work:
http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=george&dbid=76

The other nutrients they list are: "vitamin B3, vitamin B6, vitamin C, zinc, and magnesium". I don't know if the information is accurate though.