Studying for the CPA exam

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 25 January, 2014 - 13:15

Studying for the CPA exam

Hello all,

The CPA exam is a four part test covering financial accounting concepts, business environment, tax and regulations, and auditing. At this point I am studying the very hardest of the four, Financial Accounting and Reporting, and the amount of material is voluminous. It naturally takes a lot of time, but I have the problem that I cannot remember the material when I need it.

I have software that I like to use for studying, and it breaks concepts down into small chapters (chapters 2-3 pages average each), but then the problems require you to make some well-thought applications of the principles. Sometimes there's just difficulty in remembering all the principles.

I'm a bit familiar with some of the methods around here, but what's best for absorbing numerous concepts while establishing logical connections between them all?

Any recommendations on a system that will help absorb concepts, remember them, allow making easy connections between facts, and then be able to apply them?

Ask whatever questions you must if I'm not clear. Thank you!

25 January, 2014 - 13:17

PS - For those outside the U.S., CPA is Certified Public Accountant.

26 January, 2014 - 08:54

Capriccio wrote:

Any recommendations on a system that will help absorb concepts, remember them, allow making easy connections between facts, and then be able to apply them?

For me, I try to memorize one concept at a time.
Then link from the image(s) I made for the concept.

In remembering the concept it helps obviously a lot in understanding it and embedding the concept into the knowledge you already have.

For example, let's assume for now that you are studying Sarbanes-Oxley.
It helps to know where that law came from and the way companies are using the law.
On the last part, it helps to know what business controls are and how they are used to mitigate risks.