Speed Card Scoring Question

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 24 July, 2014 - 15:52

Speed Card Scoring Question

Hi guys! I'm a 19 year old amateur mnemonist, and I have a question for the gurus here about speed cards. I am perusing a recent edition of the World memory Sports Council's scoring guidelines for the 5 minute card event. I know that many, many people here are capable of memorizing a deck in much less than five minutes and that the biggest memory competition in the world is serious business, but the scoring system they describe here seems bizarre to me. Here's a link to the document that I'm viewing:

http://www.worldmemorysportscouncil.com/Ten_Memory_Disciplines_2012_Revi...

It appears that being unable to finish within five minutes or even missing a single card by accident has an absolutely catastrophic effect on your final score in points. It says on that page that there are two different formulae for scoring:

1) If you perfectly memorize the complete deck within five minutes, then your score is:
11180/(t)^0.75, where t= the amount of time that it took you to complete the task.

2) If you failed to recall all 52 cards correctly, then your score is:
c/52, where c= the number of cards that you correctly remembered.

Perhaps I'm misreading this, but that implies that someone who attempts to memorize the deck in thirty seconds flat and misses a single card would get a score of 51/52, less than a single point... Ouch.