Mind Mapping/Memory Techniques Combined

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 20 June, 2013 - 03:22

Mind Mapping/Memory Techniques Combined

Hello,

Just joined today - great to see a small community dedicated to this subject.

I'm looking to develop my learning ability - until now, I've been adopting the rote memorisation method, and although it works for me and I am able to memorize my chosen topic, I know there are techniques can make life a little bit easier. I am going back to college next year, in September, so I have plenty of time to develop new techniques. I find that I can remember the material for when it is needed, but it soon fades from my memory once that requirement is no longer needed i.e. if I studied some material for an exam tomorrow, I would be able to remember the information, but after a couple of months the information would be difficult to recall - this could be just a matter of going over my notes, but I was wondering is there a way for better retention, or to make my notes simple/shorter so the process of revising is easier.

My question is in relation to mind mapping, and the combination of memory techniques.

I'm currently reading Buzan's Study Skills, and it is providing some great information - I really like the idea of reading a chapter, taking the main notes from it, and taking my notes and turning it into a mind map, and repeat the process for each chapter, and conclude by compressing the book into one mind map.

When I finish, I want to go onto reading Buzan's book on memory - he seems to cover the main memory techniques, or I might read Dominic's How to Develop a Perfect Memory Week by Week - is one better than the other?