How to best spend my time?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 19 April, 2014 - 12:25

How to best spend my time?

Hi there,
I'm just getting started in Mnemonics. I keep hearing that anyone can do this and that it only takes a few minutes a day to build up my memory skills. I'm currently doing a 5 minute random word challenge 3-4 times a day where I use the random word generator here on Mnemotechnics and remember as many words as I can in a 5 minute time using the journey method. Right now the 20 minutes are split up throughout the day, but I could adjust that to a contiguous block of time if there is a benefit to doing so.

I would like to get faster at words and also get into numbers and cards in the near future. I'm mostly looking for some direction on how to best spend my time to improve the fastest.

I have 2 questions:

What can be accomplished in 20 purposeful minutes a day are spent on memory?

and

What is the best way for me to use this time? What exercises are best for building up my skills the fastest?

Thanks,
Ryan

19 April, 2014 - 20:29

I recommend dividing your practice pretty evenly among the things you want to improve at. With just a few minutes of training, you can learn a lot. So if you train each event every day, you can improve quite a bit over all even with a small amount of time devoted to each discipline.

20 April, 2014 - 04:41

I think the thing to do is devote some time to daily research first and figure out the kinds of techniques that appeal to you. Memory Palaces are fantastic, which is the example I'll use, but not everyone's cup of chai.

If you do dig on Memory Palaces, then I would suggest understanding how they work and build ten or so, developing familiarity with them as you go and making sure you've got each station in each Memory Palace fixed in your mind (nothing to it if you're using places you're deeply familiar with).