Dvorak Keyboard

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 15 July, 2011 - 12:26

Dvorak Keyboard

I'm not sure if I've brought up the subjects of keyboards here, but does anyone use a Dvorak keyboard?
https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/wiki/Dvorak_Simplified_Keyboard

Here are some advantages:
http://workawesome.com/productivity/dvorak-keyboard-layout/

There is even a nice version for programmers:
https://secure.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/wiki/Dvorak_Simplified_Keyboar...
(check out the order of numbers)

I use a right-hand version of the Dvorak keyboard (because of my hand injury), but I'm considering a switch to the regular Dvorak.

It was quite a brain-workout to switch from QWERTY to Dvorak right-hand. I have trouble typing on a QWERTY keyboard now...

15 July, 2011 - 15:17

I've been using Dvorak for 2+ years. There are a few drawbacks that people should know before switching away from QWERTY.

(1) No one can use your computer without switching it to QWERTY for every application every time. This isn't a problem if you are absolutely the only person who ever uses your computer at home/work. That's hardly ever the case. Being on vacation and having to walk someone through the process of switching the keyboard settings can be a pain.

(2) You quickly forget how to type on a QWERTY keyboard. This is a much bigger problem than it at first seems. I'm the "computer expert" for my friends, family and co-workers, but when I get on their computers I look like an 80 year man hunting and pecking across their keyboards.

(3) It's not as easy to type the word QWERTY on Dvorak.

16 July, 2011 - 01:10

Josh_Too wrote:

(1) No one can use your computer...

I consider that to be one of the benefits. :)

When people want to borrow my computer, they spend much less time on it because it's very frustrating for them.

Josh_Too wrote: