Creating System for Learning Arabic, Advice Wanted

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 21 July, 2012 - 01:55

Creating System for Learning Arabic, Advice Wanted

I'm completely new to the "world of memory," but I was hooked after my first exposure to the Memory Palace method, after which I tried on my own. Skeptical as I was, I memorized a list of 50 random words, which I was then able to recall perfectly 1, 2, 3, and 6 months later. I haven't had time to devote to it since then, but I am convinced of its effectiveness, and I would like to use it for my Arabic language studies.

Does anybody know about a system that I could use (or maybe adapt) for learning Arabic? I've run into some problems, which I'll describe below.

I'm at about 1,500 words now, but Arabic vocab has proven very difficult for me to memorize. I had toyed around with a system (as a complete novice) where I assigned a person/animal to every consonant and an action to every vowel, which I then used to construct images for each word using its spelling. What I found, though, was that after a handful of words, all of the images began to look the same and I could no longer memorize them.

Can anybody help me think about how to create a system that would work for Arabic?

There are a few peculiarities that I will go into below make Arabic MUCH more difficult than Romance languages when it comes to applying memory techniques as an English speaker:

-About a third of the sounds for the Arabic alphabet don't exist in English (this pretty much makes the link method useless in my experience).
-There are almost no cognates with English.