Best method to memorize a textbook?

37 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 31 January, 2012 - 17:13

Best method to memorize a textbook?

Hi!

I've spent the last few months reading every memory book I could find, and I think I'm ready to start using some of the techniques - but I need some advice concerning what method would be best for my needs.

I'm a law student, and I'm trying to memorize all of my textbooks using one or more memory techniques.

So quite simply, what method would be best for memorizing something like a law textbook? How would you approach it?

I do like the memory palace technique, and I can use it successfully to memorize a pack of cards, but I just can't figure out how I would apply it to book memorizing? How do I turn a 300 page textbook into a palace which I can access at will? How does that technique allow me to, for instance, tell someone what is on any random page if asked?

Would I be better off transcribing the textbook into a set of lengthy notes first, and memorize that?

Would other methods be more effective? Finally, how long would you estimate it would take to memorize a 300 page textbook?

Thanks for your help!

1 February, 2012 - 20:59
Yan
Yan's picture

Hi launched!

Welcome to the site! Now that is a lot of questions and I'll try to reply to them as succintly as possible. I was in the same situation as you and with the help of mnemonics, I've managed to go through medical studies quite easily, compared to my friends.

So before I go into details, contrary to popular beliefs, mnemonics and memory techniques are not the easy way out of memorizing large texts and books.

launched wrote:

I've spent the last few months reading every memory book I could find, and I think I'm ready to start using some of the techniques - but I need some advice concerning what method would be best for my needs.